Skip to content

Top 30 Community “Theme” Episodes: 20-16

June 19, 2012

Sorry about the gap, I’ve been out of town a little while, but I’m back, and here are the next 5 in the countdown of Community‘s best theme episodes.

 

20: Foosball and Nocturnal Vigilantism (Season 3)

While the clip above doesn’t show off the “themes” of this particular episode, it sets up a plot where Abed becomes Batman to find out what happened to his awesome copy of The Dark Knight. However, the main reason that this episode makes the list is the anime sequence when Jeff and Shirley face off in foosball.  It is a very funny sequence that sort of comes out of nowhere (as do many jokes on this show), but it just has such an epic feel to it that make it great.  Nick Kroll has a funny supporting role as a foosball enthusiast from Europe, and it marks an appearance from the recurring song “Daybreak,” which Troy hums in the link above.

Memorable Quote: Britta Perry-He only has the one eye Jeff, I can’t exactly buy him a cat monocle. It’s pretentious.

19: For A Few Paintballs More (Season 2)

This one, in my opinion, is the weakest of the 3 paintball episodes, but I still think it is a very good episode.  It features Abed impersonating Han Solo, a solid season-ending cliffhanger, and some really fun action sequences in this war epic parody (that probably resembles Star Wars the closest in particular).  I do enjoy the scene above following Magnitude’s sacrifice.  I can’t help it, I’m a sucker for Magnitude.

Memorable Quote: Dean Pelton- I hope you like getting balled.

 

18: Digital Estate Planning (Season 3)

This episode is among the most ambitious that I think the show has ever done, doing the majority of the episode as an 8-bit video game. While the plot isn’t among the best of the best, I just can’t help but love the fact they did a video game episode.  That alone makes it top 20 worthy, not to mention a cameo from Giancarlo Esposito who may be more recognizable from his role on Breaking Bad.

Memorable Quotes: Abed Nadir-She can make babies for me/Troy Barnes-Oh, and I can’t?!

17: Documentary Filmmaking: Redux (Season 3)

This episode chronicles the Dean’s desire to upgrade Greendale’s commercial and his descent into madness along the way.  It is done in a documentary style, which marks the second documentary episode that the show has done, but as referenced in the clip above, it is somewhat of an homage to Hearts of Darkness.

Memorable Quote: Chang-Jeff thinks he has it bad? As Jeff’s understudy, I have to wear a Jeff wig on top of my Chang hair and then my bald cap on top of that!

16: Epidemiology (Season 2)

This episode is the best of the Halloween episodes, as it parodies zombie movies quite effectively.  The references to Alien are also pretty enjoyable, but all in all, the thing that makes this episode great are the costumes and the spot on references to zombie movie tropes.

Memorable Quote: Abed Nadir- Troy, make me proud. Be the first black man to make it to the end.

 

Tune in soon for numbers 15-11.

 

Hope you liked this post, and I hope you like what else I have to say.

From → Television

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

