Skip to content

Like It, Love It, Gotta Have It: 2012 Emmy Edition (with other notes)

September 24, 2012

The 2012 Emmys were last night, so it’s time for another Like It, Love It, Gotta Have It.  This one will have some bonus material as well following the Gotta Have It to express my opinions on some of the Emmy awards that didn’t get discussed in the rest of the post.  So, here we go.

Like It: The Daily Show wins its 10th consecutive Best Variety series

The Daily Show is consistently among the funniest shows on television, and the Emmy voters love it.  They keep on giving this category to Jon Stewart and company, and while I would have enjoyed seeing Stephen Colbert take home this award for The Colbert Report, it’s tough to complain because of the high quality that The Daily Show gives us on a very regular basis.  Plus, the wrestling match in the aisle between Stewart, Colbert, and Jimmy Fallon was just terrific.  It’s always great to see “competitors” give respect to one another and enjoy the success of their peers.

Love It: Aaron Paul wins Best Supporting Actor in a Drama

While I thought Giancarlo Esposito had a slight edge in this category, I was thrilled when his Breaking Bad co-star Aaron Paul won.  The moment that the two of them shared following the announcement was heart-warming, which is not how one typically describes an encounter between Jesse Pinkman and Gus Fring.  While part of me was also rooting for Peter Dinklage’s Tyrion Lannister to defend his title in this category, I had a feeling it would come down to these two, and you could tell how much it meant to Paul to win a 2nd Emmy for this character.  I know I was not the only one who yelled “YEAH, BITCH!” when they called his name.

Gotta Have It: Louis C.K. wins two writing Emmys

While I thought Louis CK’s best shot at winning would come in the comedy directing category, he instead won for writing for a comedy series and writing for a variety special.  Louis CK is one of the funniest people in entertainment right now and it’s always great when someone who deserves recognition gets it.  While he failed to win in the acting and directing categories, in addition to Louie not being up for best series, I think he would be proudest that his ability to write jokes better than almost anyone is what he was recognized for.

Other Notes

  • My “Should Win/Will Win” predictions (Drama is here and comedy is here) were less than accurate.  My drama predictions were thrown off by Homeland taking Series, Actor, Actress & Writing.  I haven’t seen Homeland yet, so I wasn’t picking it, but I had seen Breaking Bad, Mad Men, & Game of Thrones, and based on how good those shows are, I figured the awards would have to go to them.  However, I was proven wrong, and I am interested to see how good Homeland is, because it has to be pretty damn good to have beaten those shows in those various categories.  Officially, I got all the drama predictions wrong, but I’m going to somewhat count Aaron Paul taking Supporting Actor as validation since I correctly picked the show that won.  On the comedy side, I was 3 for 8 if we include my Daily Show prediction & saying that Julie Bowen was the most likely winner for Best Supporting Actress.  I picked Louis CK in the wrong category, and picked the wrong Modern Family star for Best Supporting Actor, so I still feel better about those predictions than what my actual record was.  Oh well, there is always next year.
  • Amy Poehler continues to be the best gracious loser.  Her bit with Julia Louis-Dreyfus was very funny. While I did enjoy her character on Veep, I felt that Louis-Dreyfus wasn’t as good as Poehler was on Parks & Rec, so I still wish she had gotten to show us the bit she had planned in case she won.  Again, there is always next year.
  • On a related note, Jon Cryer winning Best Actor was a shame.  I know I predicted a win for an actor from CBS, but I didn’t see this coming at all.  I felt the nomination was the “Hey, thanks for putting up with Charlie Sheen all those years” bone that the voters were tossing Cryer, but apparently they felt like only a win could show their appreciation for how terrible it must be to work with that guy.  I’m sure he’s a nice enough guy, but you can’t convince me he is funnier than Alec Baldwin, Louis CK or Larry David were this past year.

 

That’s it for this edition of Like It, Love It, Gotta Have It.

 

Hope you liked this post, and I hope you like what else I have to say.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

