Skip to content
Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Emmy 2013 Predictions: Will Be Nominated/Should Be Nominated

July 17, 2013

In what will be my first of three Emmy posts, I decided to predict what I think will be nominated in the main categories, along with what I think will be nominated. Probable nominees are listed in alphabetical order, not by my perceived likelihood of nominations.

DRAMA

BEST SERIES

Will Be Nominated:

  • Breaking Bad
  • Downton Abbey
  • Game of Thrones
  • Homeland
  • House of Cards
  • Mad Men

Should Be Nominated: The only series of those that I haven’t watched yet is House of Cards, but the buzz has been pretty good around it so I can’t really complain. I think some shows could earn nominations, and wouldn’t really be surprised with any of the following shows being nominated (The Americans, Boardwalk Empire, Justified, The Newsroom, Scandal, The Walking Dead).

BEST ACTOR

Will Be Nominated:

  • Steve Buscemi-Boardwalk Empire
  • Bryan Cranston-Breaking Bad
  • Jeff Daniels-The Newsroom
  • Jon Hamm-Mad Men
  • Damian Lewis-Homeland
  • Kevin Spacey-House of Cards

Should Be Nominated: Of those nominees, I only watch 3 shows, and I can’t refute Cranston, Hamm and Lewis. As with before, I’ve heard good buzz about Buscemi, Daniels, and Spacey and typically enjoy those actors so I can’t complain if they get nominated. Of course, I wouldn’t mind seeing Hugh Bonneville (Downton Abbey), Andrew Lincoln (The Walking Dead), Timothy Olyphant (Justified), or Matthew Rhys (The Americans) nominated but they definitely have an uphill battle despite excellent work.

BEST ACTRESS

Will Be Nominated:

  • Claire Danes-Homeland
  • Michelle Dockery-Downton Abbey
  • Julianna Margulies-The Good Wife
  • Elisabeth Moss-Mad Men
  • Keri Russell-The Americans
  • Robin Wright-House of Cards

Should Be Nominated: I think most of those won’t raise many eyebrows, but Kerry Washington (Scandal) might be upset at being the odd woman out. I certainly think that six of those seven will be nominated; the problem of course is figuring out which one will be left out.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Will Be Nominated:

  • Jonathan Banks-Breaking Bad
  • Nikolaj Coster-Waldeu-Game of Thrones
  • Peter Dinklage-Game of Thrones
  • Mandy Patinkin-Homeland
  • Aaron Paul-Breaking Bad
  • Sam Waterston-The Newsroom

Should Be Nominated: This is a packed category as the five that I watch are beyond deserving, but so are Bobby Cannavale (Boardwalk Empire), Noah Emmerich (The Americans), Walton Goggins (Justified), Vincent Kartheiser (Mad Men), Mads Mikkelsen (Hannibal), David Morrissey (The Walking Dead), Norman Reedus (The Walking Dead), John Slattery (Mad Men), and Corey Stoll (House of Cards). This category is going to be an interesting one  to watch since so many people could earn nominations here.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Will Be Nominated:

  • Michelle Fairley-Game of Thrones
  • Anna Gunn-Breaking Bad
  • Christina Hendricks-Mad Men
  • Kate Mara-House of Cards
  • Archie Panjabi-The Good Wife
  • Maggie Smith-Downton Abbey

Should Be Nominated: The only ones I can’t say deserve nominations are Mara and Panjabi since I don’t watch those shows, but I don’t see many snubs. Possibly Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones), Joanne Froggatt (Downton Abbey), or Lena Headey (Game of Thrones) could make the case for multiple nominations for their respective shows but I don’t know how likely their nominations will be.

COMEDY

BEST SERIES

Will Be Nominated:

  • Arrested Development
  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Girls
  • Modern Family
  • Veep
  • 30 Rock

Should Be Nominated: I would put Parks and Recreation and Louie in without hesitation in place of The Big Bang Theory and Girls.  There are a number of shows that deserve nominations as well (Archer, Community [despite a relatively weak season], Happy Endings, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, and The Office [the final season had some good moments, so it could get a “last hurrah” nomination]) but I doubt that the Emmy train that is Modern Family will be derailed by those shows. I’m on the fence with Veep, but I can’t see it getting knocked out either.

BEST ACTOR

Will Be Nominated:

  • Alec Baldwin-30 Rock
  • Jason Bateman-Arrested Development
  • Don Cheadle-House of Lies
  • Louis C.K.-Louie
  • Jon Cryer-Two and a Half Men
  • Jim Parsons-The Big Bang Theory

Should Be Nominated: Baldwin, Bateman, and C.K. are ones I would absolutely keep, but I would make room for Adam Scott (Parks and Recreation) somewhere. However, since most shows nominate most of the men for supporting, the only other person I could see getting a spot is Matt LeBlanc (Episodes). While I hate that Parsons and Cryer will be nominated because their shows are terrible, I can’t see them not being nominated given the fact most comedies put their casts up for supporting.

BEST ACTRESS

Will Be Nominated:

  • Zooey Deschanel-New Girl
  • Lena Dunham-Girls
  • Tina Fey-30 Rock
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus-Veep
  • Melissa McCarthy-Mike & Molly
  • Amy Poehler-Parks and Recreation

Should Be Nominated: Can’t really complain with these nominees (although I think Girls is pretty overrated, but I can’t see Dunham not getting a spot). Mindy Kaling (The Mindy Project) and Portia De Rossi (Arrested Development) have outside chances, but I don’t really see them cracking this group. Of course, Fey’s annual spot is up for grabs next year so we’ll see what happens.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Will Be Nominated:

  • Will Arnett-Arrested Development
  • Ty Burrell-Modern Family
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson-Modern Family
  • Bill Hader-Saturday Night Live
  • Ed O’Neill-Modern Family
  • Eric Stonestreet-Modern Family

Should Be Nominated: NICK. OFFERMAN. The line starts there, everyone else, get behind him. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy Modern Family as much as the next guy, but there is no way they have 4 of the top 6 supporting actors in television.  I would keep Ty Burrell, but I would have to make room for Offerman, Charlie Day (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia), and probably Tracy Morgan since he has been the most critically underappreciated cast member of 30 Rock during its entire run.  This is a particularly loaded category because any number of shows could have multiple nominees……of course, Modern Family will be the only one that actually gets that honor.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Will Be Nominated:

  • Mayim Bialik-The Big Bang Theory
  • Julie Bowen-Modern Family
  • Jane Krakowski-30 Rock
  • Sofia Vergara-Modern Family
  • Jessica Walter-Arrested Development
  • Allison Williams-Girls

Should Be Nominated: Bowen, Krakowski, Vergara, and Walter are all fine, but a big problem in the comedy supporting actress is that there is relatively little depth compared to some other categories. I mean, you can make cases for Alison Brie (Community), Eliza Coupe (Happy Endings), Elisha Cuthbert (Happy Endings), Jenna Fischer (The Office), Gillian Jacobs (Community), Kaitlin Olson (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia), or Aubrey Plaza (Parks and Recreation), but there won’t be many that are super upset when those (inevitably) don’t get nominated despite being very funny women.

So, there you have it, my predictions for the 2013 Emmys. I suppose I’ll figure out how accurate they are tomorrow morning.

Hope you liked this post, and I hope you like what else I have to say.

From → Television

Leave a Reply

